New Directions and LOTS of Change

It’s been very quiet around here. Thanksgiving, Christmas, the new year… all without a new post. I’ve stopped writing because I’ve been trying to decide what direction to take this blog. At first, I thought about trying to focus my content on what I thought others may want to read. This lead to a lot of soul searching and coming up with nothing. I have no real expertise in life coaching, french cuisine, counseling, or high theology. Just my own ramblings and beliefs.

So I stopped thinking about what others may want to read and decided to focus on where my heart is right now; being a mom and wife. What I plan to do is to start keeping a record of every day life around here. My personal experiences, funny stories, painful lessons, and the in-between stuff that makes up this crazy beautiful life. My goal is to one day look back at these moments in time and remember what life was like. The good, the bad, and the wacky. And what if no one reads this blog but my own family members? That no longer matters. This is for me and my growing family. If someone finds it enjoyable or insightful, then awesome. In the meantime, I’m just going to write.

Matthew and I are in a unique season of our life. We put off having kids for a very long time in order to finish our education. Now we feel like we’re racing against the clock in order to make the family we’ve always wanted and not be 40 and still in the infant stage.  It’s always been a dream of mine to have a big family. I love the noise, chaos, and excitement of adventure that kids bring to a home. God has blessed us with our first child and we’re looking on with hope at our growing family.

We’re not your typical family. I’ve chosen after many months and nights of indecision to stay at home full-time with our child. This has been one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever made. I didn’t think it would be as hard as it has been, but I want to elaborate on that in a later post. Matthew works non-traditional hours and I spend at least a portion of most weeks as a single mom. Our closest family is currently 26 hours away.

So on this blog, I plan to begin to document our journey.

Starting first, we’re moving across the country. Matthew received an exciting job offer from Williamsburg, VA. We’ve been in Colorado Springs for almost four years. It’s honestly been a very difficult time for us. We’ve met some awesome people, struggled a lot, learned a lot, had our first child, recovered from residency and PA school, strengthened our marriage and physical bodies, and sadly, stagnated. This new opportunity is a chance for us to begin again. There were so many things that we hoped would have come to fruition in Colorado, that simply haven’t. I’m optimistic about our new direction. I dream of swimming lessons, days at the beach, historical reenactment,  a home church, friends, kids everywhere, blissful chaos, and a place to put down roots.

So this is my new beginning: a new blog, new house, new city, a toddler now instead of a baby…oh yeah, and I’m pregnant with baby number two. Ah yes, life is good and always an adventure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Directions and LOTS of Change

  1. kjgsail says:

    a great time to start again and to start anew. The journey begins…and continues. I look forward to reading the next chapter in your adventure.

  2. It’s a wonderful adventure. I can’t wait to read your stories. Just think, with your new home you’ll be a one day drive from family. I’m just excited to get you in the same time zone again!

Leave a Reply

