Restoring Order To My Life: Tip #11 and #12

My final tips! Congratulations, we’ve made it to the end of our series. I got a bit more wrapped up in holiday preparations last week than I thought I was going to and was unable to post these last two tips late last week. I’m sorry for the delay.

Tip #11: Develop a chore schedule

I know chores are amazingly boring and tedious, but a necessary evil. I think that a house should look lived in and comfortable, but at its base, be clean. Your house should essentially be company ready in 30 minutes of cleaning. This way, no matter who decides to stop by, you’ll be ready and won’t have to hang one of those silly signs in your home that essentially says: people live here in squalor, just accept it.

Just one of the many signs that tells people it’s okay to live in a dirty house. I completely disagree with this.

In order to keep your house at a general level of cleanliness, you need a basic outline of the chores that have to be done each week. I typed out my chore list and made it two weeks long. Each day I have a minor task to do and if I follow the schedule, my entire house will be completely cleaned every two weeks. This schedule does not include deep cleaning or seasonal cleaning. Just the basics. I’ve attached my chore schedule for you to see.

Sample cleaning schedule

Consider making something similar for your home. The key is to keep the tasks small and have a place to check things off as you go. For some odd reason, I feel better when I can cross items off as I go.

I laminate my chore schedule, so I can mark all over it with a Dry Ease marker.

Tip #12: Plan to sabbath in your schedule.

A day of rest is important for everyone.

What is sabbath?

Sabbath is a day of rest and a Christian concept. In the Bible, we’re instructed to sabbath regularly. It’s a time where you refocus and rest in order to recharge and reconnect with God.

What does sabbath look like?

It can last as long as you determine, hours to an entire day. We like to spend our sabbath with our immediate family either hiking, watching movies, having nap time, or reading books. If the weather is nice, we’ll head to a local park and eat lunch and play frisbee.

It’s important to try not to put others to work on your sabbath, so try to avoid going out to eat on sabbath (though this is really hard for us to do). You should do basic meals that day and avoid as much cooking as possible.

Try to avoid tv, the Internet, and turn off your cell phone. Read your Bible. Pray as a family. Play games and laugh together. Have fun!

You can have sabbath as often as you want. We try to do this once a week.

We’ll that’s it. My twelve tips on how to restore order to life. I hope you’ve enjoyed this series. It’s been a ton of fun to write.

Is there a topic you’d like me to write about? If so, please let me know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

