A Break From Restoring Order

We’ve been in the process of reviewing one tip each day on ways to organize ourself before the holiday season. I’m going to break from that today and instead share a couple of recipes that I came across this weekend.

This past weekend, my husband and I decided to cook up a mini Southern Thanksgiving. We’re both from Ohio, so this project was fraught with potential calamity. I’ve been to the deep south only once, New Orleans, and loved it. Their culinary style is absolutely delectable. I’m not sure I had anything in Louisiana that I didn’t like with steamed whole crawfish being my favorite.

Here’s what we cooked for our mini Thanksgiving:

  • Honey Bourbon Glazed Ham
  • Cornbread dressing
  • Cajun Corn Maque Choux
  • Classic Sweet Potato Casserole
  • Creole Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce
  • Carmel Pecan Pie

My top two favorite recipes were the Sweet Potato Casserole and the Carmel Pecan Pie. They were absolutely delicious. (I’ve had caramel pecan pie for breakfast two days in a row)

So, if you’re looking for something to spice up your usual Thanksgiving menu, try these two recipes. You won’t regret it.

Classic Sweet Potato Casserole  – the only change that I’d consider making to this recipe is doubling the crunchy topping. It’s REALLY good.

Caramel Pecan Pie: I would suggest making your own pie crust to go with this pie. (see below)

Homemade pie crust

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

