Homemade Baby Wipes

There’s a lot of bottom wiping in our house. Dragon Egg is almost four months old and I came across this recipe before he was born. We have had great success using these wipes. I know that wipes don’t cost a ton of money, but I’m in support of saving money anyway I can. This recipe is very easy. It typically takes me 5 minutes to whip up enough wipes to last me a month.

Homemade Baby Wipes

Ingredients:

  • 1 Roll of Paper towels   *You must buy brand name, thick paper towels. I like Bounty Select a Size. We found normal Bounty Towels to be too large for our needs.
  • 2 TBSP  Baby shampoo (I buy the cheapest I can find, like from the Dollar Store.)
  • 2 TBSP  Olive Oil
  • 2-4 cups of Water
  • Glass mason jar
  • Plastic bin with lid
  • X-acto knife
  • Electric knife or Serrated kitchen knife

1) Take your plastic bin lid and cut an “x” in the middle of the lid. This is where the paper towels will be dispensed. I used an X-acto knife. I made two different plastic bins, so I can rotate using them so the wipes are always on hand.

2) Now, take your paper towel roll and cut it in half, horizontally. I use a serrated kitchen knife, but it’s been suggested to use an electric knife. Warning: this part takes a bit of patience and strength.

3) Place one half paper towel roll in the plastic bin. Messy (cut) side down.

4) In a 4 cup glass mason jar (I use this because it won’t keep the shampoo smell if I want to use it later for something else), add the shampoo and olive oil. Depending on how diluted you want it, mix in 2-4 cups of water. (I use 2-3 cups)

5) Shake and pour over the paper towel roll. Put the lid on the plastic bin and shake the towel roll to disperse the liquid.

6) Reach in the middle of the roll of paper towels and pull out the cardboard center. The middle will be where you start your wipes. Feed the center most sheet through the lid and reattach the lid.

7) Congratulations! You now have homemade baby wipes.

This entry was posted in Bringing Up Baby and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

